Who is Bharat Ratna?

The UPA government’s decision to confer the highest civilian Award to Sachin Tendulkar has triggered a much anticipated row.

There is absolutely no doubt that Sachin deserves this honour for his contribution to Indian Cricket, but I feel it was more to lure some ‘cricket fanatic’ voters than to honour the game’s best Batsman ever.

Pillai (Dhanraj Pillai, of course.), asks the Govt. at centre to explain why it was not given to Major Dhyanchand. His plea was then supported by people from Janta dal United, who went on to say ‘For what did Sachin get this honor, he was paid for his game!’

BJP, the principle opposition party, didn’t miss on the opportunity as well. They went on to demand a Ratna for Mr. Vajpayee.

Some BJP leaders went on saying that the Bharat Ratna awarded to various Congress Prime Ministers (Gandhi-Nehru Family) were an outcome of ‘biased’ Congress governments, ignoring the leaders like Ram Manohar Lohiya, Jai Prakash Narayan etc.

The former allies of BJP, National Conference and JDU looked like were in support of the BJP.




Bharat Ratna is awarded to individuals who have worked selflessly for betterment of the society, may it be social work, politics, education, economics, Science or Music. Recently sports was also included (no official announcement but as Sachin has been conferred with this prestigious award, the cabinet must have decided upon it.)

Many people of tall stature who have done exemplary work in their respective fields find their names in this elite list of notables.

In my personal opinion, not to offend anyone, every Martyr on the border is a Bharat Ratna. he need no medal or certificate for this. Those Doctor’s in remote villages serving humanity for no monetary interests are Bharat Ratna. Those youth who have left their illustrious career to work for betterment of Society are Bharat Ratna.

Well Well Well. Sachin and Dr. CNR Rao are Bharat Ratna this year. We may say anything but the reality won’t change.

Let’s just hope it’s Major Dhyanchand, the wizard with the Hockey Stick, and Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee, one of the most eloquent poets and statesman of India, for next year.

Jai Hind!